The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award 2015 presented by Nationwide

The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award is a prestigious award that honors an NFL player for his distinction both on and off the field. The award was named after the late Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back, Walter Payton to continue his legacy and pay homage to his philanthropy. Each NFL team nominates one player whose civic endeavors have had great impact on his community.

A panel of judges including Commissioner Roger Goodell, former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue, Sports Illustrated writer Peter King, Connie Payton (Walter Payton’s widow), Anthony Muñoz, LaDainian Tomlinson and the 2014 award recipient, Thomas Davis, will select the winner. The three finalists will be announced in January 2016. The winner will be announced during the 5th Annual NFL Honors awards show, a two-hour primetime special airing nationally on Feb. 6, the night before Super Bowl 50, from 9-11 p.m. ET on CBS.

Each of the 32 team nominees receives a $5,000 donation to their charity of choice. The two runner-ups will receive an additional $6,000 donation to their charity of choice. The winner will receive an additional $50,000 donation to the charity of his choice. All donations are courtesy of NFL Foundation and Nationwide.

You can participate in the Walter Payton Man of the Year Charity Challenge!!!

Go on your social media and help your favorite player win an additional donation to their charity, courtesy of Nationwide. Vote for any of the 32 nominees by simply using that player’s unique Charity Challenge hashtag (players and hashtags listed) now through December 31, 2015. The player whose hashtag is used the most will receive a $20,000 donation from Nationwide to assist in their philanthropic efforts. #WPMOYCharityChallenge

This year’s award nominees include:

Patrick Peterson

Arizona Cardinals



Patrick DiMarco

Atlanta Falcons



Steve Smith Sr.

Baltimore Ravens



Eric Wood

Buffalo Bills



Greg Olsen

Carolina Panthers



Matt Forte

Chicago Bears



Carlos Dunlap

Cincinnati Bengals



Gary Barnidge

Cleveland Browns



Brandon Carr

Dallas Cowboys



David Bruton Jr.

Denver Broncos



Stephen Tulloch

Detroit Lions



Sam Barrington

Green Bay Packers



J.J. Watt

Houston Texans



Dwayne Allen

Indianapolis Colts



Zane Beadles

Jacksonville Jaguars



Eric Berry

Kansas City Chiefs



Ryan Tannehill

Miami Dolphins



Chad Greenway

Minnesota Vikings



Devin McCourty

New England Patriots



Benjamin Watson

New Orleans Saints



Eli Manning

New York Giants



Eric Decker

New York Jets



Justin Tuck

Oakland Raiders



Connor Barwin

Philadelphia Eagles



Cameron Heyward

Pittsburgh Steelers



Darrell Stuckey

San Diego Chargers



Anquan Boldin

San Francisco 49ers



Richard Sherman

Seattle Seahawks



Chris Long

St. Louis Rams



Vincent Jackson

Tampa Bay Buccaneers



Delanie Walker

Tennessee Titans



Ryan Kerrigan

Washington Redskins


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *